Any Way You Spell It, We’re Still Frakked

All this time I’ve been spelling the Battlestar Galactica word for fuck as “frack.” As in: “It looks like the ongoing labor dispute in Hollywood is going to frack us out of the final BSG episodes.” (Watch this clip for more BSG-style cussing.) Turns out I’m wrong, however. The canonical spelling is “frakk,” as I learned a few days ago on show-runner Ronald D. Moore’s newish blog.

What else did I learn?

Production wrapped on episode 413 late last night, and there’s no certain date to resume shooting. No more scripts exist. My office staff has been laid off. My cast has been suspended, without pay.

I refuse to believe that we won’t finish, that we won’t be back to film our final stories, but I know and accept there is that possibility.

[snip]

Galactica’s coming back, I frakking promise you that. But I am ready to put the rest of the story on the table and take the risk that I’ll never be able to tell it, in support of this strike.

Like Adama says, you make your choices and then you live with them.

Never be able to tell it? Come on, couldn’t we have a series of graphic novels at least? Or a podcast where you just tell us what would have happened? We’re doomed to live forever at cliff’s edge because of a labor issue? Maybe this is just how a savvy WGA member maximizes his leverage. But then again, maybe not.

One response to “Any Way You Spell It, We’re Still Frakked

  1. its spelled “frak.” because it’s a four letter word. the extra “k” is added with suffixes: “frakked,” “frakking.”

    dork to the max.

    also: what about a 2 hour special to wrap up the story? not that RAZOR was such a success, but it seems like the most viable option to get the frakking ship to florida.

Leave a Reply

